Just another WordPress.com weblog

BUBs (Break up bars)

I made these a while ago, but I never posted about them. I was really nervous making them, because if they messed up, that would have been a waste of a LOT of ingredients. Luckily, they turned out PERFECT. 🙂 The shortbread crust was pretty crumbly, and it took a little extra time to brown slightly. The caramel cooked nicely without any problems, but the melted chocolate was a little hard to spread on the wiggling caramel. I chilled the caramel layer first, but I guess I didn’t chill it long enough. Melting chocolate to spread is harder than it seems! The butter helped, next time I’ll turn down the heat a little so it melts slower and hopefully becomes more liquid-y. Note: Nestle chips do not melt well! Ghiradelli is much better. And chocolate bars are even better. Anyway, after popping the finished product in the freezer for a while, we ate. And ate and ate and ate. These bars are amazing! I swear they get better every time I eat one!

Leave a Reply

