Just another WordPress.com weblog

Caramel Apple Pie

I promised Mom apple pie. for our Domino Night at Jacob’s house. So do I make the reliable standard apple pie with two crusts and an apple filling? Of course not!

I started with Joy the Baker’s Easy No Roll Pie Crust. I pressed the crust into a 9 1/2 inch pie plate and used a measuring cup to make sure the crust wasn’t extra thick on the edges. I made this a day ahead and froze it. The next day, I baked it at 350 for 15 ish minutes. It never really browned but that’s ok.

The rest of the pie was courtesy of RZ’s Yummy Crunchy Caramel Apple Pie. I used 3 large granny smiths, which we lazily peeled. I added a little extra cinnamon to the filling. I only made half of the crumb topping and I didn’t even use it all. I probably should have though. I also should have pushed the apples down into the pie a little better so the top would have been flatter. I baked it for 25+27 minutes in Jacob’s house’s oven. I covered the edges for the first 25.

I made Kittencal’s Easy Caramel Ice Cream Topping the day before and let it thicken in the fridge. It makes a lot! After pulling the pie out of the oven, I drizzled it with the caramel sauce and sprinkled it with chopped, toasted pecans. It cooled for maybe 10 minutes and we ate it with vanilla ice cream.

Everyone loved it! Or at least said they did, haha. Even though I wasn’t too excited about making an apple pie, these extra additions made this dessert really special. I am very proud of this dessert, and I think it gave me the boost to win our domino game!

Leave a Reply

