Just another WordPress.com weblog

My contribution to our dinner tonight was making some buns to house Erin’s delicious pulled pork. I choose KA flour’s Beautiful Burger Buns. This recipe was so simple, and ended up being very tasty. They were soft, but strong enough to hold the pork, sauce, and coleslaw. I didn’t use an entire 1/4 cup of sugar and I proofed the yeast before adding in the rest of the ingredients. My bun shaping skills were lacking, but I was in a hurry. Next time they’ll be prettier! I brushed them with butter and baked them for 16 ish minutes probably until they were golden.

However, the success of my buns was overshadowed by the AMAZINGNESS of Erin’s pulled pork. She used Tyler Florence’s Oven Roasted Pulled Pork recipe. She marinated it in the spices for an hour, and it cooked for maybe 5 1/2. It was so easy to shred and it was really juicy and tasty. The sauce smelled a little strong when it was cooking, but it ended up being perfect! I added the meat juices into the sauce, which is something the Pulled Pork Sandwich recipe said to do. It was left out of the Oven Roasted Pork recipe though, I’m not sure why. If I ever need to feed a crowd at school or something, I’m totally making this! Unfortunately, it doesn’t make any sense to make this for just me and Jacob.

Go Erin!

Comments on: "KA Buns and the Famous Pulled Pork" (1)

  1. Isn’t that one of the greatest things about baking at home, You get to control exactly what goes in. I’m glad to hear you think this recipe is a keeper. Frank, baker/blogger @ KAF.

Leave a Reply

