Just another WordPress.com weblog

My mom’s friend Kim made this dessert she found in a magazine, and my mom asked me if I would make it for us. I was happy for any excuse to make a dessert, so I said yes. The dessert is apparently a popular one, called Frosty Orange Layer Dessert. It didn’t seemed very exciting, so I thought I’d make a few changes. First of all, I decided it needed a crust. But I didn’t want a regular old vanilla wafer or graham cracker crust. So I went with…coconut cookies! I ground up maybe 10-12 and mixed it with 2 tbsp butter. I didn’t fill the entire pan with crust just in case my mom wanted it without. I also used fat free rainbow sherbet instead of orange. Wouldn’t use fat free again, it has a funny taste if you take a big bite. For my final touch, I zested an orange and mixed it with the cream part of the dessert. The results? It was awesome! I didn’t think it would be anything special, even with my additions, but I was definitely wrong! This would be the perfect summer dessert.

Leave a Reply

