Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roasted Chickpeas

I’ve been making lots of snacks recently…they’re fun, I can make and eat them whenever I want, and (so far) they taste good! Today was RZ’s Roasted Garbanzo Beans. I only roasted 1/2 of the can because I wanted to see how they tasted. But I’ll finish off the can soon! I dried out the beans really well, and tossed them with a splash of olive oil, salt, 2 shakes garlic powder, 2 pinches onion powder, and 2 shakes cayenne. I baked for 50 minutes at 350, shaking the pan after 20 and 40 minutes. They turned out crispy and tasty. A little spicy but that’s fine with me! Luckily I had some cool leftover tzatziki sauce and carrots to cool my mouth down. If they had been any more spicy, I wouldn’t have liked them. Next time I’ll try using some seasoning salt instead of regular salt.

If storing overnight, don’t cover these…they’ll get soft. But they will re-crisp if you put them in a 350 degree oven for 10 or so minutes.

Note – roasting at 400 works too. They turn out really nice.

Leave a Reply

