Just another WordPress.com weblog

Spicy Roasted Edamame

I had a little extra time for lunch today between my classes, so I came home for lunch. I wanted some edamame, and I was getting tired of my routine of steaming it and tossing up with seasoning salt and pepper. I’ve been on a roasting kick recently, so I was really excited to find a Spicy Roasted Edamame recipe on All Recipes. I used 1/2 cup of edamame, two tiny splashes of olive oil, and a few sprinkles of all of the spices. I added a little garlic powder as well. After about 14 minutes of roasting, I dug in. Originally I thought I was pulling them out too early, but I couldn’t wait any longer because I had to get back to class. But they were so so good! A little browned from the roasting, soft but with texture, and they had lots of flavor from the spices. I would definitely do this again and it would even be good to make ahead as a snack! Maybe I can get Jacob to try it…he says he doesn’t like edamame but he loved my salad the other day!

I made this again with corn tonight, making enough for two and going really heavy on the spices. It was a nice idea and the nutty edamame and sweet corn go together nicely, but the corn didn’t get a chance to brown. I probably won’t mix the two again because of the different cooking times, but I would use those spices on corn and roast them for 20+ minutes, maybe at 400.

375, 12-15 minutes

Chili powder, basil, cumin, paprika, garlic powder, S&P

Leave a Reply

