Just another WordPress.com weblog

Corn Dogs

I’ve had a craving for corn dogs, and I almost bought frozen ones a while ago. Luckily, I talked myself out of it because I figured they would be crappy. I’m REALLY glad I did, because homemade corn dogs are easy and delicious. I used AR’s recipe for Corn Dogs and cut it in half. I omitted the black pepper and added cayenne. I could use more cayenne next time. I think the recipe could have used a little more milk, because I basically had to spread it on the dogs by hand. I thought about pouring the batter into a cup, but I figured it wasn’t worth the trouble. I was planning on using skewers, but my fryer was the perfect size to just drop them in. We filled the pot to the line, but we could use a little less oil next time. I dried the dogs, rolled them in flour, coated them with batter, and fried for 2 minutes. The coating turned out very nice. I liked the even ratio of flour to corn meal, and the hint of sweetness. It had a good texture, slightly crispy but soft and fluffy inside. It wasn’t too thick or thin, and it and stayed on the dogs while eating. No complaints here! Just a little more milk and a little more cayenne.

Corn Dogs (All Recipes)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 quart vegetable oil for frying
  • 2 (16 ounce) packages beef frankfurters
  • 16 wooden skewers

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, combine cornmeal, flour, salt, pepper, sugar and baking powder. Stir in eggs and milk.
  2. Preheat oil in a deep saucepan over medium heat. Insert wooden skewers into frankfurters. Roll frankfurters in batter until well coated.
  3. Fry 2 or 3 corn dogs at a time until lightly browned, about 3 minutes. Drain on paper towels.

Next time I’ll try another All Recipes recipe, the A Plus Fair Corn Dog. It has baking soda, buttermilk, and bacon drippings.

Leave a Reply

