Just another WordPress.com weblog

Raspberry Oatmeal Bars

There has been a jar of Raspberry Jam in my fridge since…hmm let me think about it…October. Parent’s Weekend. I bought it to go with my homemade biscuits. I guess I just don’t have much use for jam. I prefer fruit 9 times out of 10. Except with biscuits, haha. I decided to use it all up today in All Recipe’s Delicious Raspberry Oatmeal Cookie Bars. I was a little skeptical of the lack of eggs, but who am I to argue with the 500+ people that said these came out great. I took the advice of some reviewers and added a big 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the dough. I also went the “healthy” route and used 1/2 regular flour, 1/2 white whole wheat, and omitted a tbsp of butter. I was a little nervous the bars would crumble, but with the exception of the corners, they held together fine. I took the time to really push the dough into the pan. The only other thing I did was add some lemon zest into the jam. Very good bars!

Delicious Raspberry Oatmeal Cookie Bars – All Recipes

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour (1/2 cup white whole wheat, 1/2 cup all purpose)
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup rolled oats (I used old-fashioned)
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup seedless raspberry jam (whatever was left in the jar, it looked pretty close)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease one 8 inch square pan, and line with greased foil. (I baked at 325, because of my pans)
  2. Combine brown sugar, flour, baking soda, salt, and rolled oats. Rub in the butter using your hands or a pastry blender to form a crumbly mixture. Press 2 cups of the mixture into the bottom of the prepared pan. Spread the jam to within 1/4 inch of the edge. Sprinkle the remaining crumb mixture over the top, and lightly press it into the jam.
  3. Bake for 35 to 40 minutes in preheated oven, or until lightly browned. (It only needed 25.) Allow to cool before cutting into (12) bars.
Leave a Reply

