Just another WordPress.com weblog

Focaccia

I was craving a new type of bread this week so I went with: focaccia! I knew I wouldn’t have a ton of time and energy to devote to a complicated bread recipe, so I went with the no-fuss Focaccia recipe from KA. I mixed about a tsp garlic powder and oregano, 1/2 tsp thyme and basil, and a little pepper into the flour. The bread didn’t get as brown as I wanted, but I thought it would get way too harder if I baked it longer. It softened up some while cooling, so I probably could have baked it a little longer. I think I left it in there for about 38 minutes. I probably didn’t let it rise long enough, because my bread didn’t have as many holes like the picture. I used active dry yeast, but I proofed it first, so that shouldn’t be the problem. Overall, it was pretty dang close and tasted good, so I’m happy.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups warm water
  • 3 tbsp olive oil (plus additional for drizzling) – hmm, should I have put some olive oil into the dough??
  • 1 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3 1/2 cups unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp garlic powder (I just eyeballed these)
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp basil
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • Black pepper

Directions:

  1. Lightly grease a 9×13″ pan, and drizzle 1 to 2 tbsp olive oil in the bottom.
  2. Combine all of the ingredients (I totally skipped the 3 tbsp olive oil – whoops!) and beat at a high speed in an electric mixer for 60 seconds. (My mixer couldn’t handle all of that at a high speed. I also ended up adding more water to make the dough sticky, which wouldn’t have happened if I had remembered the oil.)
  3. Scoop the sticky batter into the prepared pan (use fingers to spread it to the edges), cover the pan, and let it rise for 60 minutes, till it’s become puffy.
  4. While the dough is rising, preheat the oven to 375. (I did 350 because of my dark pan.)
  5. Gently poke the dough all over with your index finger.
  6. Brush lightly with olive oil, and sprinkle with seasonings (I mixed my seasonings into the dough, so I didn’t sprinkle any on top.)
  7. Bake bread until it’s golden brown, about 35-40 minutes.
  8. Cool on wire rack out of pan, or it’ll get soggy.

So now I know why my bread was a little different – I left out the olive oil. My bad! Guess I’ll just have to make it again sometime.

Leave a Reply

