Just another WordPress.com weblog

Baked Eggs in Tomato Sauce

Other wise known as Tomatoes in Purgatory, apparently. Since I had some tomato sauce with butter and onions lying around, I thought I would try the classic combo of egg, tomato sauce, and toast. I made this just for myself but I’d do this again for more people. Recipes for this generally had you make a tomato sauce with garlic, herbs, etc., but I wanted to use my sauce. I think I’ll try using a sauce with more flavors next time, because this meal was really simple tasting. Not that I’m complaining, but I just would want to try something different. I shredded some parmesan over the top, and added some S&P to the egg. I baked at 375 for 17 minutes, and the egg yolk looked perfectly runny. However, the egg kept cooking while I was eating and hardened up a little. It was fine though, but next time I’ll do 16. I used leftover focaccia drizzled with olive oil that I baked in the oven for about 12 minutes.

Leave a Reply

