Just another WordPress.com weblog

Shredded Beef Nachos

I had bought some tostitos earlier this week for my avocado feta salsa, and I wanted a fun way to use them up. My mind jumped to nachos, but I decided I wanted something different then seasoned ground beef. I went with a shredded beef recipe from Guy’s Top Notch Top Round Chimichangas, which I had bookmarked like a year ago. The amount of liquid needed was WAY off though. I cut the recipe in half and figured I’d use most of a can of beef broth, which is 14 oz. I ended up using the whole can, as well as another can or two of water. Using water didn’t make the beef suffer any…the flavorings seeped into it almost instantly. After almost two hours, the beef was perfectly tender. While shredding it, I took a taste and was a little indifferent. It kind of tasted like a slightly better I figured I’d add some more salt, and it would be good enough. But once I put the beef back in the cooking liquid and added the lime juice…wow. It changed the flavor completely, making it…I don’t know, fresher and lighter and delicious. You don’t taste the lime specifically, but I could definitely taste the difference.

Ingredients: (with my measurements, scaled down to feed a starving Jacob, me, and a little to split tomorrow)

  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 tablespoon granulated garlic
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil (I cut these first ingredients in half)
  • 3 pounds boneless beef rump, trimmed and cut into 1-inch cubes (I used 1.7 ish lbs of beef arm roast…I trusted the meat guy’s advice at Market Street, and I’m glad I did! I didn’t want to pay $15 for meat in one trip, even if I could use it for another dish)
  • 2 yellow onions, chopped (1/2 big yellow onion)
  • 3 teaspoons seeded and minced jalapenos (1/2 of a jalapeno)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped garlic (2 pretty big cloves)
  • 2 1/4 cups beef broth, plus extra if necessary (I used one can, plus lots of water later on)
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar (2 tbsp)
  • 1 (15-ounce) can pinto beans, drained and rinsed (left out)
  • 1 (15-ounce) can black beans, drained and rinsed (left out)
  • 1/4 cup lime juice (about 3 limes) (1 lime)
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro leaves (no way)
  • 4 to 6 cups corn oil (wasn’t making the chimichanga)
  • 10 (11-inch) flour tortillas, steamed (tortilla chips)
  • 2 1/2 cups shredded pepper jack cheese (4 cheese mexican blend from kraft)
  • 2 cups shredded iceberg lettuce (skipped)
  • 3/4 cup salsa (skipped)
  • 1 cup sour cream (yes please! just a little, mixed with lime zest from 1/2 a lime)
  • 1/2 cup seeded and diced tomatoes (1/2 tomato)
  • 1 avocado, diced (skipped)

Directions:

In a small bowl, combine chili powder, cayenne, granulated garlic, and flour. Set aside. In a heavy bottomed, large stock pot, heat canola oil over medium-high heat. Add beef cubes and brown on all sides. Add onions and jalapenos and saute for 4 to 5 minutes. Add garlic and saute for 1 minute more. Mix in flour mixture, stirring frequently, for 2 to 3 minutes. Deglaze with beef broth. Then add vinegar. Stir well to combine. Bring to a boil. Lower heat to medium-low and simmer for 2 hours, adding additional beef broth, if necessary, to keep meat simmering in liquid. When meat is fork tender, remove to a sheet pan and shred with 2 forks. Add shredded beef back into pot, along with pinto and black beans, lime juice and half the cilantro. Cook until mixture is heated through. Remove from heat and allow to cool.

*I put the beef back in, added the lime juice, and boiled for 3-4 minutes so the juice would cook down some. There was still juice left when I turned off the stove. I won’t include the directions for the chimichangas. I’ll just write what I did.

I used a slotted spoon to transfer the beef to my nachos and cheese, trying hard to get rid of the drippings so the chip wouldn’t get soggy. Then I covered with more cheese and broiled for 2 minutes. I served this with seasoned chopped fresh tomato, and sour cream mixed with lime zest. (A perfect condiment I thought of at the last second.)

Leave a Reply

