Just another WordPress.com weblog

I bought Jacob some Reese’s Pieces for Valentine’s Day, and thought it would be cool to put in some cookies. I choose to make a peanut butter cookie with chocolate chips and reese’s pieces. I let Jacob choose whether to use milk or semi sweet chocolate chips, and he choose milk. I think I would have preferred semi-sweet, to contrast the artifical (but still tasty) flavor of the Reese’s Pieces. I flipped between three different recipes to make my cookies, because not one recipe seemed perfect. I used Cookie Madness’ Peanut Butter and M&M cookies, Canary Girl’s Yummiest Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies, and Joy the Baker’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies. All of my choices ended up being good ones, because I really liked these cookies! Nice and chewy, and I could taste the peanut butter, which is a problem sometimes in peanut butter chocolate chip cookies. We made these nice and big, and we got 18 out of our dough.

All three of the recipes had an difference in the leavening, so it made me wonder about the differences. I decided to go with baking soda, because that seems pretty common in cookie recipes. I think baking powder is used when there is an acidic ingredient, and I usually see the combination of the two in cake recipes. I’ll do some research sometime!

I didn’t roll the dough in sugar or use a fork to make criss-cross lines like Joy the Baker. I also didn’t chill the dough, because I liked how much the cookies spread. It made them look huge! Jacob shaped the cookies, and he used a heaping tbsp. I wanted really big cookies for once. The dough balls didn’t look that big, but they grew a ton.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (I used fine sea salt)
  • 4 oz (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup smooth peanut butter, plus a couple of spoonfuls smooth or crunchy
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 large egg, room temp
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup Reese’s Pieces and chocolate chips

Directions (from Cookie Madness):

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheet with parchment paper.

Mix together flour, baking soda and salt; set aside.

Cream butter and both sugars using high speed of an electric mixer for 3 solid minutes. Beat in the peanut butter, followed by eggs and vanilla.

Stir in the flour mixture, followed by Reese’s Pieces and chips.

Chill dough for about an hour. (I skipped this.) Scoop up by tablespoons and shape into balls. Bake for about 12 minutes. (I baked for 6, turned the cookie sheet, and baked for 5 for the ideal cookie. 12 minutes was a tiny tiny bit too long.)

Leave a Reply

