Just another WordPress.com weblog

So i’ve never had etouffee, but now I really want to try it to compare. Most etouffee recipes I found were for crawfish, but my version had chicken and sausage. I adapted the recipe some to suit my needs. I really liked it and I think the sauce had the right thickness, based on pictures I saw. I committed the ultimate sin by not serving this over rice. Instead, we dipped leftover tortillas from last night. šŸ˜› There was one aspect of the etouffee I wasn’t crazy about, and I’m pretty sure it was the green bell pepper. I used a little more than what 1/2 of the recipe would be, and next time I would cut back. I also went a little too far chopping my veggies in the food processor. They were so processed that they were almost pureed and they pretty much disappeared in the cooking liquid. I probably could have done a better job with my roux. I don’t think I had enough fat in the pan, because my roux was not liquid at all. It’s hard to describe, but it was almost doughy. My sauce ended up being smooth though, so I couldn’t have messed it up too bad. The best part of the dish was the chicken. It was very moist and flavorful, and not dry at all.

I cut the recipe in half, and it was enough for me, jacob, jacob again, and me for lunch tomorrow.

Chicken and Sausage Etouffee (adapted from Tyler Florence)

Serves 4-6.

Ingredients:

  • Extra-virginĀ olive oil
  • 1 pound andouille sausage links (I used german sausage…probably made a BIG difference, but I wanted to use it up. Also, my sausage didn’t render a lot of fat, which probably caused my later problem with the roux.)
  • 4 leg-thigh chicken pieces (I used 4 b/s chicken thighs. Not having the skins probably also contributed not having enough fat)
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons unsaltedĀ butter
  • 3/4 cup all-purposeĀ flour (I only used 1/4 cup plus a little, and that seemed like too much)
  • 1 medium onion, roughly chopped
  • 2 ribs celery, roughly chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, roughly chopped (next time, use less than 1/2 of a green bell pepper. I probably used 3/4 of it, just because I didn’t want to waste much)
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 (12-ounce) can beer (I just did two turns of the pan, because there was a lot of debate from the reviewers whether you were supposed to use beer or not. I wanted to, so I did.)
  • 4 cups low-sodium chicken stock
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 tablespoons paprika
  • Pinch cayenne pepper
  • 1 cup chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley (I didn’t bother, even though I had these ingredients)
  • 2 scallions diced

Directions:

Set a Dutch oven over medium heat and add a 2-count of olive oil. Add the sausage links and brown slightly as you render some of the fat. I cooked for about 5-6 minutes and tried to brown each side. Remove and set aside on a paper towel. Season chicken with plenty of salt and pepper (I added some cayenne and paprika) and add skin side down to the pan. Cook over medium heat to render fat for 7 to 10 minutes, then turn to brown both sides of the chicken. I found that the chicken didn’t want to brown much on medium heat, but that’s ok. Ā Remove and set aside on a paper towels. I put it on a plate so I could pour the juices back in.

With the pot still over medium heat add 2 tablespoons butter to melt with the fat then add flour and whisk to incorporate, and then swap to a wooden spoon. Cook until it is nice and brown (you want a nice deep rich colored roux), about 10 to 12 minutes. Next time, look up a little more about making a roux.

In a food processor add the onion, celery, bell pepper, and garlic, and pulse to roughly chop (not puree!). Add the vegetable pulp to the pot with the roux and stir with a wooden spoon. I salted some here. Cook over medium heat for 5 to 7 minutes to sweat out some of the moisture, then deglaze the pot with the beer (2 turns of the pan). Add the stock, bay leaves, paprika and cayenne. I also added more S&P. Return the chicken pieces to the pot and simmer until the chicken is tender, about 1 hour. I added the sausage at this time after dicing it and I only simmered for about 25 minutes. Remove the chicken pieces from pot to a cutting board and shred (dice) the meat. Discard the bones and return the meat to the pot.

Give it all a final taste and season with salt and pepper, to taste. Transfer to a serving platter and garnish with plenty of parsley and scallions.

Leave a Reply

