Just another WordPress.com weblog

Swedish Meatballs

So I wasn’t exactly sure if I would like Swedish meatballs, considering nutmeg and allspice are two of the ingredients, but for some reason I felt like I had to try them. Luckily, I was very pleased with how they turned out. You definitely taste the spices, but they don’t overpower. Instead, they just make a unique, tasty meatball. I loved the soft, juicy texture of these, and I wouldn’t make any changes to the meatball portion.

As far as the sauce, it was nice and simple, but I never really figured out how thick it was supposed to get. I let it cook on medium low for probably 5-7 minutes, then cranked it up a little. It thickened a little, and stuck to the back of the spoon, but it was still pretty thin. I don’t think it’s supposed to get much thicker, but I would need to do some research. I really want to make these again for my family or a get together or something, and add some lingonberry jam or red current jelly to the sauce. It sounded so weird to me before I tried these meatballs, but now I think the combination would be fabulous! And I never use that word.

Another thing I might try is putting the meatballs back in the sauce and stir them around for a couple of minutes.

I’m including the exact measurements I used for me and Jacob’s dinner, so I can duplicate the mix of spices/add-ins if I make this again for more people.

Alton Brown’s Swedish Meatballs

Ingredients:

  • 1 thick slice of (slightly stale) homemade white bread
  • A little less than a 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 grated small onion
  • A little less than 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • A little more than 1/3 of a 1.3 lb package 85/15 ground beef
  • A little more than 1/3 of a 1 lb package ground pork
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • small 1/8 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/8 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1 tbsp butter and 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp all-purpose flour (maybe increase this a little)
  • 1 can beef broth
  • 2 splashes heavy cream

Directions: (These are from Recipezaar’s Swedish meatball recipe)

  1. In a small bowl, soak the torn up bread in the milk until soft.
  2. In a large bowl, combine all the meatball ingredients except the butter and oil, and add the soaked bread.
  3. Mix thoroughly until smooth, it’s best to use your hands for this.
  4. Shape into small, golf-ball size meatballs (by dipping your hands in cold water, the meatballs won’t stick to your hands.) – I think ours were a little bigger, we got 13.
  5. Heat butter and oil in a large, deep skillet over medium-high heat.(I put it on medium)
  6. Add the meatballs, about 8 to 10 at a time, and gently brown on all sides, about 5 to 7 minutes. (About 10, because ours were a little bigger)
  7. Shake the skillet now and then so meatballs stay round and brown evenly.
  8. Place them on a heated baking pan in a low oven to keep warm.
  9. Add flour to leftover fat and whisk for 2 minutes. Then add beef broth, whisking occasionally. (RZ said to strain the gravy, I didn’t bother because it was just me and Jacob.) Let simmer until thickened slightly, about 3-5 minutes. Add the cream and season with salt and pepper.
Leave a Reply

