Just another WordPress.com weblog

Bacon, balsamic, blue cheese. I wasn’t sure how everyone would like this, but the combo of flavors turned out to work really well together! I couldn’t get everyone to try the blue cheese, but my dad and I liked it. This was barely a dressing, more like a topping. It was extremely fatty, but it was good! I did pour out some of the bacon grease. I loved the sweetness the balsamic gave to the bacon, and I wish there had been a little more red onion. My dad thought the grilled lettuce wasn’t necessary and that it would have tasted fine with cold lettuce. I agreed, but I did like the grilled lettuce. The only reason I looked for a grilled romaine recipe in the first place was because Jacob loved it so much the last time. He said today’s wasn’t as good as he remembered. He was the one that grilled it though, haha. Oh well.

Ingredients

  • 4 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil (I didn’t use any to saute the bacon, and I started the bacon in a cold pan. I used about 1 tbsp for the dressing later on)
  • 3/4 cup chopped red onion
  • 1/2 pound bacon, chopped (I used 5 slices for 5 of us, which was a few slices short of 1/2 lb)
  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar (I didn’t use the full amount, mainly because I didn’t want to use up the whole bottle)
  • 3 heads romaine lettuce, cut in 1/2 lengthwise (From a bag! Much easier than buying big huge heads and messing with them
  • 1/2 cup crumbled blue cheese (People put on whatever they wanted, or left it off)
  • Freshly ground black pepper

Guy’s Grilled Romaine with Blue Cheese-Bacon Vinaigrette

Directions

Preheat the grill to high heat.

Heat 1 tablespoon of the olive oil in a saute pan over high heat. Add the onions and bacon and cook until the bacon is crispy. (I let the bacon cook for a minute or two, and once some fat started to appear, I added the red onion. Jacob tended to the bacon because he knows when it’s done better than I do) To the same pan add the balsamic vinegar and 1 tablespoon of the olive oil and stir to combine. Remove from heat and set aside.

Brush the romaine lettuce with the remaining 2 tablespoons of olive oil (and salt and pepper), place on the grill cut side down, and quickly sear.

Serve the lettuce, cut side up, and drizzle the balsamic dressing over the lettuce. Sprinkle with blue cheese and garnish with cracked black pepper.

Leave a Reply

