Just another WordPress.com weblog

The name of this recipe is called Delicious blue cheese Broccoli Casserole, and Kittencal wasn’t lying! It was delicious. I cut the recipe in half, and used my lower fat ingredients. In order to serve this with my pork tenderloin, I had to change the cooking times and temperatures a little. I baked the casserole covered for 15 minutes at 350 for 12 minutes, then took it out of the oven and kept it covered. Then, when I was ready, I sprinkled the crumbs on, baked at 425 for a few minutes, then broiled until crumbs started to turn brown. Jacob thought the broccoli could have been a little softer, but I thought it was perfect. It came apart easily with my fork but wasn’t mushy. If I had followed the instructions, it probably would have been a little softer. Which I’m sure would have been great too!

The sauce was really nice, and I liked that the cracker crumbs were mixed in. The blue cheese I used (from the salad bar at Market Street was pretty mild, so the blue cheese taste was just right. The sauce was pretty thick, and it reminded me of a much more flavorful cream of whatever soup with a better texture.

I cut the recipe in half, and added a big clove of minced garlic to the melted butter.

Ingredients

  • 4 cups fresh broccoli florets, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 4 ounces cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup blue cheese, crumbled (for a milder blue cheese flavor reduce to 1/4 cup) – I used 1/4 for the full flavor!
  • 1 cup milk or half-and-half (2%)
  • fresh ground black pepper (optional and to taste)
  • 1 1/2 cups Ritz cracker crumbs (I used 1 small sleeve)
  • 6 tablespoons butter, melted (Maybe 2 tbsp of country crock)

Directions

  1. Set oven to 350°F.
  2. Grease a medium casserole dish.
  3. Steam broccoli florets until firm-tender (about 2-3 minutes) drain well then pat dry with paper towels.
  4. In a large saucepan melt 2 tbsp butter over med-low heat; add in flour and stir for 1 minute.
  5. Add cream cheese, blue cheese and (not cold!) milk; stir over low heat until melted and smooth, then add/stir in broccoli.
  6. Mix 6 tbsp melted butter with the cracker crumbs until well combined.
  7. Stir in 1 cup cracker mixture into the broccoli mixture.
  8. Season with black pepper if desired. (I did this while making the sauce)
  9. Pour mixture into a casserole dish.
  10. Cover with foil or a lid and bake for 15 minutes.
  11. Remove from oven then sprinkle the top with remaining cracker crumbs.
  12. Return to oven and bake uncovered for another 15 minutes.
  13. Allow to cool for 10 minutes before serving. (Yeah right! I let it cool for a few)
Leave a Reply

