Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roasted tomato salad

I didn’t realize that this dish is meant to be served cold until I was already roasting them. I guess the word “salad” in the title should have tipped me off. But this was really delicious warm, so it’s all good. I pretty much eyeballed everything. I did skin the tomatoes, which I’ve never bothered to do before. This is so simple – cut the tomatoes in half, salt, pepper, 2 cloves garlic, olive oil, and lots of basil. Somehow, the fresh basil I wanted never made it home, so I used dried and it was fine. After about a hour (the tomatoes never actually blackened at the edges), I took the tomatoes out and splashed them with balsamic vinegar. They sat out for a little bit, so they were only warm/room temp when we ate. I would love to try this cold also.

Just had an idea – glass pans are great, but not for roasting. I need to roast in metal pans only.

Ingredients

  • 12 large nice sweet tomatoes
  • 12 leaves basil
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • salt & freshly ground black pepper

FOR THE DRESSING

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar (I didn’t add any more olive oil, I just did some splashes of balsamic)

FOR THE GARNISH

  • more fresh basil leaf
  • black olives, both to personal taste

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Skin the tomatoes, cut a cross at the bottom, pour boiling water over them, leave for up to a minute, drain and slip off their skins.
  3. Cut them in half and place them, cut side up, in an oiled, approx 16×12 inches, roasting tin.
  4. Season with salt and pepper, sprinkle evenly over them the garlic and the olive oil.
  5. Tear the basil leaves in half and put them on the tomatoes, flipping them over so they get some oil.
  6. Place the tomatoes in the oven and roast them for 45 minutes to an hour depending on your oven (the edges should be slightly blackened) Remove from the oven and cool.
  7. To serve, transfer them to induvidual or a large serving plate (with their juices) whisk together the oil and the vinegar, drizzle over the tomatoes.
  8. Have some nice crusty bread on the side.
  9. Scatter over more basil and the black olives.
Leave a Reply

