Just another WordPress.com weblog

You know it’s a good sign when you can smell your dinner before you open the apartment door. I started this chicken at like 1:15 (after browning it), and got to eat after work, maybe around 7:45. Browning the chicken is nice, but it made the chicken tenderness inconsistent. I think I’d leave that part out next time. It was really really delicious though. The chicken shredded nicely and had amazing flavors in and around it. I added a can of fire roasted tomatoes with garlic.

Ingredients

  • 3 lbs chicken, cut up in pieces (I had 1.7 lbs b/s chicken thighs, which was enough for a starving Jacob and me, and two more lunches)
  • 1 large onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 (6 ounce) cans tomato paste  (I used maybe a tbsp or two, and a can of fire roasted tomatoes.)
  • 6 ounces sliced mushrooms (4 mushrooms chopped into big chunks)
  • 1 green bell pepper, finely chopped (I left this out. I don’t like green that much, and the red bell pepper was expensive and not that good looking.)
  • 2-4 cloves garlic, minced (3)
  • 2 teaspoons oregano
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon celery powder (I had celery salt, and just used a little. I don’t even know if I tasted it.)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil (I can’t remember if I added this or not. If I did, it was only a little. I’m pretty sure I didn’t though.)
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes, optional (When eating, I decided I added the perfect amount. I could feel the slight warmness, but it wasn’t strong at all. Too bad I wasn’t measuring)

Directions

  1. Place onions in bottom of crock pot. (I sprayed the bottom with spray first)
  2. Add chicken pieces.
  3. Stir all the other ingredients together.
  4. Pour over chicken.
  5. Cook on low heat 7 to 9 hours or high heat for about 3 to 4 hours. (I cooked for 6, because I had already browned the chicken.)
  6. Serve over pasta or rice. (I just had bread on the side, which I prefer to pasta or rice.)
Leave a Reply

