Just another WordPress.com weblog

Alyson’s broccoli salad

I needed a cold vegetable dish to pack in my lunches, and this was perfect. This concept is VERY popular, and everyone’s recipe is just a tiny bit different. I made a lot of adjustments to this recipe to make it healthier. I used a regular head of broccoli and also a teeny one. For the entire salad, I used one slice of bacon. If I added some salted nuts (maybe cashews or peanuts or sunflower seeds), I could probably just omit the bacon. I made WAY less dressing too. I just mixed it all together the night before. I was going to steam the broccoli a little, but it was fine raw on day 2.

Ingredients

  • 10 slices bacon (1)
  • 1 head fresh broccoli, cut into bite size pieces (1 and about 1/4 heads)
  • 1/4 cup red onion, chopped (I used the whites and some green of 2 green onions)
  • 1/2 cup raisins (1/2 of a box)
  • 3 tablespoons white wine vinegar (prob a tbsp, maybe a little more)
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar (big pinch, 1 tbsp)
  • 1 cup mayonnaise (a little less than 1/2 cup, closer to 1/3)
  • 1 cup sunflower seeds (left out)

Directions

  1. Place bacon in a large, deep skillet. Cook over medium high heat until evenly brown. Drain, crumble and set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine the broccoli, onion and raisins. In a small bowl, whisk together the vinegar, sugar and mayonnaise. Pour over broccoli mixture, and toss until well mixed. Refrigerate for at least two hours.
  3. Before serving, toss salad with crumbled bacon and sunflower seeds.
Leave a Reply

