Just another WordPress.com weblog

So I consider Jacob to be a challah bread eating expert, and he said this recipe doesn’t really taste like challah. I really liked how it tasted because it kind of reminded me of fuddrucker’s buns. It was sweet and fluffy and soft. It was pretty doughy and pretty sweet. It could easily be transformed into a desert recipe. It sliced easily, but I ripped my pieces off of the deformed top.

This recipe didn’t work that well in my bread maker. It rose way over the bowl and actually hit the top of the lid. Jacob said the top middle looked gooey when it was done baking. By the time I got home, I guess it finished cooking because it was completely cooked. The loaf was really ugly because it was made in the bread maker. I would like to make another challah recipe, but I won’t use the bread maker. It’s convenient and easy, but the loaves make too big of slices with too-browned edges.

This recipe is REALLY similar to the Tasty Buns recipe on All Recipes.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons margarine
  • 3 cups bread flour
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast

Directions

  1. Add ingredients to the pan of the bread machine in the order suggested by the manufacturer.
  2. Select Basic Bread and Light Crust settings. Start.
Leave a Reply

