Just another WordPress.com weblog

Zucchini casserole

This was a really nice way to have zucchini. I would definitely serve this again as a side dish. Today it was our main because I wanted to make bread today instead of a protein. I made a couple of substitutions, and they worked well. My main change was that I did not pre-cook the zucchini at all, and I seasoned the halves before putting the topping on. This resulted in tender but not mushy, good-tasting zucchini. My sauce was more of a topping and didn’t really pour. I baked for 37-38 minutes and then turned the broiler on for a minute or two.

I cut the recipe in half.

Ingredients

  • 8 zucchini
  • 1/2 cup butter (I used 1 1/2 tbsp)
  • 2/3 cup grated cheddar cheese (I used some cheddar, some mexican blend cheese because I didn’t have enough cheddar)
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • paprika (to taste)
  • 1/4 cup chopped chives
  • 1 cup breadcrumbs or crushed cracker (I used ritz pretzel crackers – so good! I used maybe 12 for four zucchini halves, but only needed about 1/2 of the crumbs)
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

Directions

  1. Wash zucchini; boil whole for 5 to 10 minutes–no more. – I skipped this
  2. Cut off ends and slice in halves lengthwise. Season zucchini!
  3. Place in single layer in buttered casserole dish.
  4. Melt butter and mix in cheddar cheese, sour cream, salt, paprika, and chives.
  5. Pour over zucchini.
  6. Sprinkle with bread crumbs or crackers and then parmesan cheese.
  7. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes or until bubbly.
Leave a Reply

