Just another WordPress.com weblog

These disappointed me a little bit. They just weren’t that great, and there are several things that I decided could have been the reason.

  • Not enough salt (Our old recipe called for 1 tbsp, and I didn’t use that much)
  • Our ground beef was getting a little old
  • Over mixing – the texture/moistness wasn’t that great
  • I could have made them smaller
  • Letting the mixture sit overnight
  • The flour didn’t create a good crust like the other meatballs. It just burned in strands and I had to pick the black parts off. Maybe the oil wasn’t hot enough?

Another thing, I don’t know if I tasted the red wine vinegar, and I felt like I used a little extra. I really want to try this again, because I was certain it would be a good recipe. It’s going to bug me until I figure out what I did wrong. I read the other days that mixing the meat with a fork helps avoid overmixing.

I added feta to some of the meatballs and served them with my standard tzatziki.

I also made greek salad, and next time I won’t make the dressing the night before, because the fat solidified. The dressing and tomatoes tasted good, but I think I should have washed my cucumber better because it tasted funny.

Keftedakia (Greek Meatballs) RZ

Ingredients

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1/2 lb ground pork
  • 1 large onion, minced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons dried mint, rubbed
  • 2 slices white bread, crusts removed (from dense sourdough or artisan loaf)
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 ounce ouzo liqueur (optional)
  • flour (for dredging)
  • oil (for frying)

Directions

  1. Mix meats, onion, garlic, salt, pepper, oregano and mint.
  2. Remove crusts from bread slices, process into crumbs (I use my mini food processor) and moisten in milk.
  3. Add bread and egg to meat (you can add a shot glass full of ouzo for flavouring at this point, if you like).
  4. Knead mixture so that everything is incorporated evenly. This probably means more handling of the meat than you’re usually used to, but it’s ok in this particular recipe. The milk does not need to be squeezed out of the bread. It will all come together after kneading into a kind of meat paste.
  5. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour before using (I often make this an evening earlier to use the next day).
  6. Shape into walnut-sized balls, dredge in flour, and saute in hot oil until meatballs are cooked and browned on all sides. (I use olive oil because I have an endless source, but a good vegetable oil, or a combination of vegetable and olive oil would be fine).
  7. Good hot or at room temperature.
  8. Note: To freeze (after cooking) Flash freeze separately. When frozen you can pop them into freezer bag.
  9. Note2: You can also bake these in the oven (you do not need to dredge in flour if you do). They are very good this way, too. Obviously, frying provides a lot of flavour, but sometimes, cutting some calories is also a good thing. ;-).
  10. To heat: Thaw and use as per directions above.

Kittencal’s Famous Greek Salad (RZ)

DRESSING

  • 1 cup olive oil (can reduce to 3/4 cup) – used less
  • 2-3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 2-4 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 3 teaspoons fresh minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (or to taste)
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper (or to taste)

SALAD INGREDIENTS

  • 1 large romaine lettuce, chopped (or use 2 small) – left out
  • 2-3 plum tomatoes, cut in wedges (use Roma tomatoes)
  • 1 English cucumber (peeled, seeded and chopped)
  • 1 red onion, cut in slices – left out
  • 1 green bell pepper (seeded and cut into rings or sliced) (optional) – left out
  • 1/2 lb feta cheese, crumbled (or to taste)
  • 1 cup kalamata olive – left out

Directions

  1. For the dressing; in a processor or use a wire whisk process/whisk the olive oil with lemon juice, oregano, garlic, basil, red wine vinegar, salt and sugar until smooth (start with 2 tablespoon lemon juice and 2 teaspoons oregano adding in more if desired after mixing).
  2. Season with black pepper.
  3. Chill in fridge for a couple of hours before using to blend flavors.
  4. Place the salad ingredients in a large bowl.
  5. Pour dressing over; toss to combine.
Leave a Reply

