Just another WordPress.com weblog

Bar cheese

Velveeta strikes again! I made a nice cheese spread to use up some of it today, and the combo of ingredients really kicked the processed cheese up a notch. I really had to eyeball the amounts, because I cut the recipe down so much. I started with only 1/4 lb of velveeta. The cheese had a good kick, and had the perfect amount of spice/fun flavors. I especially liked the smokiness/manliness. I added more Worsh than it called for I think. But I liked it! Making it was kind of a pain. 30 minutes ish of stirring a cheese dip? Kind of lame. One variation said to do it in the microwave, so after adding the last ingredients and cooking for a few minutes, I finished it off in the micro. Whatev.

Supposedly this lasts a long time in the fridge. If I ever have leftover Velveeta again (which hopefully I won’t, because I really don’t think there are any more velveeta recipes I want to try), I could make a bigger batch and serve to people.

Ingredients

  • 32 ounces Velveeta cheese (regular)
  • 1 1/2 cups mayonnaise
  • 1 (8 ounce) jar horseradish
  • 7 drops Tabasco sauce or hot sauce, of your choice
  • 9 drops Worcestershire sauce

Directions

  1. In a large sauce pan over low heat, melt the Velveeta.
  2. Add the jar of horseradish and mix.
  3. Allow this to heat on low for 15 minutes, stirring often.
  4. Add the mayo, Worcestershire, and Tabasco.
  5. Mix and allow to heat another 10 minutes, stirring often.
  6. Cool slightly and pour into 4 or 5 containers.
  7. Refrigerate.
  8. Serve on your choice of crackers.
Leave a Reply

