Just another WordPress.com weblog

Quesadillas x 2

Happy seis de Mayo! I’m a day late, but I enjoyed both quesadilla recipes I tried tonight. The first was a copycat of Taco Bell’s quesadillas, except I subbed beef for chicken. The sauce recipe was REALLY close. Some bites were perfect, some were a little too sweet, and a couple almost had too much seasoning. Maybe I suck at stirring though. I used shredded Mexican cheese (a little more than 1/4 cup.) I should have warmed the tortillas a little before folding or followed the directions about folding them in the pan because they ripped a little in the middle. I rubbed a tiny bit of butter-flavored shortening on the bottom of the skillet. It took about 8 minutes for the cheese to melt and the sides to brown. I cooked on a little higher than medium heat.

Taco Bell Quesadillas (RZ, serves 4)

Ingredients

SAUCE

  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 teaspoons minced jalapenos, slices
  • 2 teaspoons jalapeno juice, from minced jalepenos
  • 3/4 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 dash salt

QUESADILLAS

  • 4 flour tortillas
  • 4 chicken tenderloins
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup shredded monterey jack cheese
  • 2 slices process American cheese

Directions

  1. Combine sauce ingredients and stir until smooth.
  2. Grill chicken in vegetable oil and cut into thin slices.
  3. Preheat skillet over medium heat.
  4. One at a time, lay tortilla into hot skillet and sprinkle with 1/4 cup of each shredded cheese and 1/2 cheese slice on one side of the tortilla.
  5. Arrange about 1/4 cup chicken slices over tortilla on the same half covered with cheese.
  6. On the empty side, spread about one tablespoon of sauce.
  7. Fold over, and press gently with spatula.
  8. Cook until cheese is melted and slice each into 4 pieces.

The second was a beef quesadilla with beans. I liked these also because the beef/bean mixture was really tasty. It was good to have some quesadillas in the oven and some in the skillet, but the skillet wins I think. It’s easier to squish the quesadilla and the browning of the tortilla is especially delicious. I liked the paprika on the top, so I would still have to add that if I made these on the skillet. I rubbed with the shortening again. My can of beans had jalapenos in it, so I left out the chiles. I doubled the spices and I almost added some different ones, but I thought I should stick to the recipe. Jacob preferred the Taco Bell quesadillas, which is what I expected. I liked them both and I can’t pick a favorite.

Beef Quesadillas (RZ)

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1/2 cup refried beans
  • 1 (4 ounce) can chopped green chilies, drained
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1-2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 flour tortillas (8 inches)
  • 2 tablespoons butter or margarine, melted
  • 1 1/3 cups shredded taco cheese
  • paprika

Directions

  1. In a skillet, cook the beef over medium heat until no longer pink; drain.
  2. Stir in the beans, chilies, oregano, cumin, chili powder and salt.
  3. Cook over medium-low heat for 3-4 minutes or until heated through.
  4. Brush one side of each tortilla with butter.
  5. Spoon 1/2 cup of the meat mixture over half of the unbuttered side.
  6. Sprinkle with 1/3 cup cheese; fold in half.
  7. Place on a lightly greased baking sheet.
  8. Sprinkle with paprika.
  9. Bake at 475 degrees for 10 minutes or until crisp and golden browned.
  10. Cut into wedges.
Leave a Reply

