Just another WordPress.com weblog

I looked at a lot of different mashed potato recipes to figure out exactly what I wanted. I ended up with a hybrid, and they tasted really good. Very smooth, and much better than boring old mashed potatoes. I’m not the biggest potato fan anyway, so all of the additions made these extra good.

This was the recipe I followed the most. I put in all of my changes. I used 3 big russets, which added up to almost 3 lbs.

Ingredients

  • 2 lbs potatoes
  • 1 head garlic (I only put 1/2 of the head into my potatoes because I wanted to use the other pieces for something else)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil (Just a splash, and I added some S&P)
  • 1/4 cup sour cream (I think I added a little bit more)
  • 4 tablespoons butter (I think I used 2 tbsp, I can’t remember though)
  • milk or cream, if needed (I eyeballed it, but I probably used a cup or so of milk)
  • salt (Yes please)
  • white pepper (No thanks)
  • Green onions, chopped

Directions

  1. Separate head of garlic into individual cloves. (Didn’t bother)
  2. Toss in olive oil and wrap tightly in small piece of aluminum foil.
  3. Bake in 350°F (180°C) oven for 45 minutes.
  4. When the garlic has cooled to the touch you should be able to squeeze it out of the ‘paper’ shell of the individual cloves.
  5. Mash the roasted garlic with a fork, or force through a fine strainer.
  6. If you use a ricer as recommended below, simply rice the garlic along with the potatoes.
  7. Peel and boil potatoes in salted water until tender. (I diced them. At medium high, it took about 12 minutes)
  8. Force the cooked potatoes through a ricer (recommended) or mash by your usual method. (The masher for a few minutes, then I gave up and used the hand mixer.)
  9. Put the riced potatoes, garlic, sour cream, butter, and salt and white pepper in a mixer bowl, and whip at medium speed until smooth.
  10. Add cream or milk to adjust consistency. (I heated the milk and butter in a small saucepan, and let the sour cream sit out for a while to get the chill off.)
Leave a Reply

