Just another WordPress.com weblog

Arrabbiata sauce

This was good, but not great to me. I had to add an extra 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes to cut the spiciness (and I just used a heaping 1/2 tsp!). So maybe that’s why I didn’t think it was as good as I was expecting it to be, because it was too diluted from the extra tomatoes. I didn’t have time to add extra of all of the other ingredients, but I did add more seasoning. I cooked some seasoned (garlic powder, S&P) shrimp in the sauce and tossed everything with penne. I topped it off with some feta cheese. Shrimp+tomato sauce+feta=yum.  Maybe I would have liked the sauce better if I had pureed it? Or made it a day ahead. I did like it, I just wasn’t that impressed. Everyone else was happy with it, which is good because I saved half of it for another meal for them once I leave.

Arrabbiata Sauce (AR)

Ingredients

  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3/8 cup red wine
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh basil (I used dried. Maybe fresh would have helped?)
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 2 (14.5 ounce) cans peeled and diced tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

Directions

1. Heat oil in a large skillet or saucepan over medium heat. Saute onion and garlic in oil for 5 minutes.

2. Stir in wine, sugar, basil, red pepper, tomato paste, lemon juice, Italian seasoning, black pepper and tomatoes; bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium, and simmer uncovered about 15 minutes.

3. Stir in parsley. Ladle over the hot cooked pasta of your choice.

Leave a Reply

