Just another WordPress.com weblog

I’ve seen two versions of M&M cookies, some made with shortening and some made with butter. So which one do I pick? Neither! I did 1/2 butter crisco and 1/2 butter. The shortening made the cookie the characteristic smooth texture and the butter made it spread and taste good. I mixed M&Ms in the dough and pushed 3-5 M&Ms on top. I baked on ungreased cookie sheets, and they took anywhere from 8 to 10 minutes. I made half of the cookies, and they were big, smooth, and flat. Not bad, old baking soda flat! That was how they were supposed to be, based on my memory of M&M cookies and pictures from recipes. The edges were lightly brown but they weren’t crispy.

I also refrigerated the other half of the dough and mixed in a little more flour. It didn’t really make a difference though, but I only added a spoonful of flour and I didn’t refrigerate that long. For some reason, making these cookies made me want to look up a lot about cookies and what the ingredients do. Here are some of the interesting things I found and things I decided.

I would like to make some M&M cookies that are thicker and chewier, and maybe throw in some chocolate chips. Butter makes cookies spread, but I don’t think I want a cookie that has all shortening. Maybe I’ll try it one day though.

Other suggestions to stop cookies from spreading – chill dough, no grease on pans, cool sheets

I also read that melting butter makes cookies chewier, as well as using more brown sugar than white. Also, cool the cookies completely on the pan.

I don’t know why I didn’t look at Cookie Madness’ blog before baking, but she also baked a lot of M&M cookies at one point. I want to try her Best Yet M&M cookies, because we seem to have similar opinions on the matter. This recipe uses cool butter and shortening, 1 egg vs. 2 in most recipes, and more white sugar than brown. She also chills the dough and adds chocolate chips. If I made more M&M cookies one day, I would also try a chocolate version.

Robbi’s M&M cookies (AR)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup shortening (half butter, half shortening)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (I tend to have a light hand with the flour, maybe that’s why my cookies sometimes end up flat)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups candy-coated milk chocolate pieces

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, mix sugar, eggs, shortening, and vanilla thoroughly. Add flour, salt, and baking soda to creamed mixture. Blend well. Add 3/4 cup of M&M candies.
  2. Drop dough by teaspoonful onto cookie sheet. Slightly push a few candies on top of each dough ball with remaining candies.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 9 to 11 minutes, to your liking.
Leave a Reply

