Just another WordPress.com weblog

Slow cooker carnitas

I usually don’t make recipes without reviews, but this one from Popsugar looked irresistable. Plus, the blogger combined two popular recipes from My Recipes and All Recipes, so I went for it. And I’m so glad I did, because it was delicious and easy. The hardest part was smelling it cooking all day without tasting it!

I used 2 lbs of boneless pork shoulder roast, cut into chunks and turned the heat to low after 4-5 hours, then cooked a few more hours until dinner time! The meat was really flavorful and I wanted to drink the juice. I forgot, however, that juicy pork doesn’t really work on tortillas unless you really drain the meat.

I read a review about baking slow-cooked carnitas in the oven to dry them out a little and give them the crunchy edges that you would get if you fried the pork. I might try that sometime.

I added 1/2 tsp of ground coriander and left out the chipotle in adobo. I cut up about 8 jarred jalapeno slices and I could have added more.

Slow Cooker Carnitas
Modified from MyRecipes and All Recipes

Ingredients

1 onion, diced
4 cloves of garlic, minced
2 tablespoons chopped chipotles in adobo
1 fresh jalapeño chiles, seeded and diced
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano or Sazon Mexican seasoning
2 to 3 lb. boned pork butt or shoulder, cut into chunks
1 can (12 ounce) light beer
1/4 cup fresh-squeezed orange juice
1 cup beef broth (I used a whole can, but there was a lot of juice. It probably doesn’t need that much.)
Salt and pepper

Directions

  1. Combine the onion, garlic, chipotles, jalapeños, and seasonings in a crockpot. Stir well.
  2. Add the pork and toss with the vegetables and spices. Pour in the liquids. Season the entire mixture generously with salt and pepper.
  3. Cover and cook on high for 6 hours.
  4. Remove roast from slow cooker and let cool. Shred pork, using two forks to pull meat apart. Return pulled pork to slow cooker and stir to combine with veggies, chipotles and juices.

Serves 10.

Leave a Reply

