Just another WordPress.com weblog

Oreo rice krispies

These were almost the most delicious rice krispie treat I’ve ever made. The issue was that they were kind of hard, which could have been caused by overheating the marshmallows or packing too tightly. It also can be caused by old marshmallows, but mine were new. I would love to make these again to make them softer and gooey-er. Next time I will melt the marshmallows on low, and maybe I won’t try to halve the recipe. I tried to measure 5 oz, but I had to estimate.

I made these again and actually did the whole recipe. I used 1 bag of regular marshmallows minus about 6, and 5+ cups of rice krispies. They were extremely gooey and sooo yummy. I used a fancy bittersweet chocolate that had a bit of a fruity taste. It turned the marshmallow a nice light brown and you could actually taste the different in the final product. I also used Hershey’s cookies and cream bars for the white chocolate, which I thought would have been cool to play off the cookies and cream theme. However, the bars had way more cookies than cream, so I ended up not having enough white chocolate.

Umm, I might have made these again. And I’ll continue to make them because they keep getting better and better! I use the butter/marshmallow/cereal proportions from the 80s.

Cookies and Cream Rice Krispie Treats (Annie’s Eats)
Ingredients:
1/2 cup bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
4 tbsp. unsalted butter
10 oz. marshmallows
1 tsp. vanilla extract
6 cups Rice Krispies
20 Oreo cookies, coarsely chopped
4-6 oz. white chocolate, chopped
finely chopped Oreos, for topping (I used chopped oreos)

Directions:
Place bittersweet chocolate in a small microwave safe bowl.  Microwave in 30 second intervals, stirring in between, until completely melted.  Set aside.  Grease a 9×13″ pan.

Melt the butter in a large saucepan over medium heat.  Add the marshmallows and stir until melted and well combined.  Turn off heat and stir in the melted chocolate and the vanilla extract.  Gently stir in the Rice Krispies and coarsely chopped Oreos, and mix to coat evenly.  Press the mixture into the prepared pan, leveling the top.  (I like to use a piece of plastic wrap over my fingers and press it down with my hand.)  Allow to cool completely.

Once cooled, cut into squares.  Place white chocolate in a heatproof bowl set over a pan of simmering water, and stir until completely melted.  Place the finely chopped Oreos in another bowl.  Dip the top of each square into the white chocolate and then the finely chopped cookies.  Set aside to cool and let the chocolate set completely.  Store in an airtight container.

Leave a Reply

