Just another WordPress.com weblog

This recipe was Jacob’s pick! I had some leftover mini marshmallows, so I pulled up some interesting recipes with mini marshmallows and let him decide. I probably wouldn’t have picked this recipe on my own, but I’m glad he did because these were easy and really yummy. The texture is great, they’re really gooey and chewy because of the marshmallows that melt into the batter. I’m glad they melted because I’m not a fan of biting into marshmallows in baked goods. Or any dessert actually.

The baking part was scary, because there were a lot of mixed reviews about the timing. I used my dark pans and lowered the baking temp to 335. I baked for 15 minutes, checked, 3 minutes, checked, 2 minutes, checked, then 2 minutes. So, 22 minutes overall, but I kept opening the oven. It’s really hard to tell when they’re done, because you want them to look gooey still, but not get hard and gross.

Somehow, the blondies came out perfectly cooked. It wasn’t too butterscotch-y, which was nice, and I liked the semi-sweet chocolate chips hanging out in there.

I cut the recipe in half, and I was afraid there wasn’t enough dough to fill the bottom of the pan. But it was barely enough.

I also used foil sprayed with cooking spray, and only a little bit stuck to the foil.

Disappearing marshmallow brownies (All Recipes and Taste and Tell)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup butterscotch chips
  • 2/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups miniature marshmallows (I added a few extra)
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 9×13 inch pan.
  2. Using a microwave-safe bowl, melt the butterscotch chips and butter together in the microwave, stirring occasionally until smooth. Set aside to cool.
  3. In a large bowl, stir together the brown sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Mix in the melted butterscotch chips, then the flour, baking powder, and salt until smooth. Stir in the marshmallows and chocolate chips last. Spread the batter evenly into the prepared baking pan.
  4. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes in preheated oven. Cool, and cut into squares.
Leave a Reply

