Just another WordPress.com weblog

Every once in a while I get a really strange urge to cook something I’ve never eaten before. I can’t explain it, but something draws me to recipes sometimes and I can’t get them out of my head. That was the case with these lettuce wraps. I’ve never been to P.F. Chang’s, I’ve never had chicken lettuce wraps, and honestly, I don’t even like Chinese food that much. But somehow, this recipe made it onto my menu for this week. I even purchased sesame oil, which I could only find a few other recipes I would ever make that call for it. So it was a risky dinner, but a part of me KNEW these would be awesome.

And they were. Jacob inhaled them and drank every last ounce of the special sauce. I loved every part of them and was pretty bummed when I realized the recipe was for 2-3 servings and there wouldn’t be any leftovers.

However, I did make a lot of changes. Here is the original recipe, and below is the ingredients with my changes and my revised instructions.

P.F. Chang’s Chicken Lettuce Wraps (Recipezaar)

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons oil (I used a little less, and I picked canola oil)
  • 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts (3 b/s chicken thighs)
  • 1 cup water chestnut (1 can, minus a few)
  • 2/3 cup mushroom
  • 3 tablespoons chopped onions (Completely forgot, green onions would have been nice. I threw in a little onion powder)
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 4-5 leaves iceberg lettuce (I would prefer chopping the lettuce and making a salad)

SPECIAL SAUCE

  • 1/4 cup sugar (I used a tiny bit less, because some people thought it was too sweet)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons ketchup
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/8 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon hot mustard (yellow mustard with a small spoonful of horseradish – authentic, no, but it worked)
  • 2 teaspoons water (left out)
  • 1-2 teaspoon garlic and red chile paste (a little garlic powder and a few sprinkles of red pepper flakes)
  • Cornstarch slurry

STIR FRY SAUCE

  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon rice wine vinegar

Directions

  1. Combine all special sauce ingredients in a small sauce pan over medium heat. Bring to boil and whisk frequently, then reduce and add cornstarch slurry. Take off heat after it’s thickened some. I put in the fridge for a little bit, and if desired, it can be re-warmed.
  2. Combine stir fry sauce ingredients.
  3. Heat oil in medium skillet on medium heat.
  4. Mince garlic in food processor, then add mushrooms (roughly chopped,) water chestnuts, and onion. Fry in oil, stirring frequently. After a minute, add half of stir fry sauce.
  5. Grind chicken thighs in food processor and season before adding to veggies. After a minute, add rest of stir fry sauce.
  6. Cook veggie/chicken mixture until chicken is cooked and it becomes a little less liquid-y. Stir often.
  7. Serve veggie/chicken mixture in lettuce leaves (or preferably, on chopped lettuce). Pour sauce into individual cups, and pour over chicken.
Leave a Reply

