Just another WordPress.com weblog

Baked kale chips

I got some mixed reviews on these…and i’m a little conflicted as well. We all agreed the taste was good. But the texture was really interesting. They were crisp and would crumble into tiny bits unless you were extra careful. My dad compared it to dried seaweed and I felt they were kind of like poupouri. But every bit got eaten! And my sister was the biggest fan, which is weird because she doesn’t usually go for veggies.

Baked Kale Chips (Smitten Kitchen and All Recipes)

Serves 6 (I say 4)

Ingredients

  • 1 bunch (about 6 ounces) kale (I used Lacinato or “Dinosaur” Kale but I understand that the curlier stuff works, too, possibly even better)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • Sea salt, to taste (or seasoned salt)

Directions

Preheat oven to 300°F. Rinse and dry the kale, then remove the stems and tough center ribs. Cut into large pieces, toss with olive oil in a bowl then sprinkle with salt. Arrange leaves in a single layer on a large baking sheet (I needed two because mine are tiny; I also lined mine with parchment for easy clean-up but there’s no reason that you must). Bake for 20 minutes, or until crisp. Place baking sheet on a rack to cool.

Leave a Reply

