Just another WordPress.com weblog

Corn dogs improved

I made corn dogs for my family today, and learned a few tips to improve on my previous attempt. I used a slightly different recipe, which had buttermilk instead of milk, less baking powder, and the addition of bacon drippings. I can’t pick a favorite recipe, but these corn dogs were better executed. I added extra milk to make the batter smooth and less clumpy, and cut the dogs in half. I dried off the dogs and tossed them in flour so the batter would stick. Then I put popsicle sticks in them. I got adventurous towards the end of cooking these babies and added some cayenne to the batter. I fried for 4-5 minutes.

A Plus Fair Corn Dogs (All Recipes)

Ingredients:

  • 1 quart oil for deep frying (I didn’t even fill the fryer up to the line)
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons bacon drippings
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 1/4 cups buttermilk
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda (I just realized I forgot this! Whoops!)
  • 2 pounds hot dogs
  • wooden sticks

Directions:

1. Heat oil in a deep fryer to 365 degrees F (185 degrees C).

2. In a large bowl, stir together the flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder and salt. Stir in melted bacon drippings. Make a well in the center, and pour in the egg, buttermilk, and baking soda. Mix until everything is smooth and well blended.

3. Pat the hot dogs dry with paper towels so that the batter will stick. Insert wooden sticks into the ends. Dip the hot dogs in the batter one at a time, shaking off the excess. Deep fry a few at a time in the hot oil until they are as brown as you like them. Drain on paper towels or serve on paper plates.

Leave a Reply

