Just another WordPress.com weblog

Mexican rice

Why I started liking rice all of the sudden I’ll never know. But recently, I’ve been really wanting to make (and eat) it! I made Mexican rice, and it was full of flavor! I changed up the recipe a little so I write it how I made it for Jacob and me. It was spicy but not too spicy, and really really good. It took about 25 minutes of simmering to get the rice cooked nicely. I need to be better at not opening the pot while it’s simmering!  I might stir in the tomato later on, maybe while simmering, because it cooked down too much. A squeeze of lime juice would be nice.

Mexican Rice III (All Recipes) and Mexican Rice II (All Recipes)

With adaptations

Serves 3

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup long grain white rice
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons vegetable oil
  • 1 cup chicken broth (start with 3/4 cup)
  • 1/4 cup tomato sauce
  • 1/2 small onion, finely chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 fresh jalapeno pepper, chopped
  • Small tomato, seeded and chopped
  • 1 cube chicken bouillon
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

Directions:

1.  Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat and add rice. Cook, stirring constantly, until puffed and golden. While rice is cooking, add onions, garlic, jalapenos, salt, and cumin.

2. Cook until onions are tender and heat up tomato sauce and chicken broth.  Stir in tomato sauce and chicken broth; bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for 20 to 25 minutes. Fluff with a fork.


Leave a Reply

