Just another WordPress.com weblog

Ground beef tacos

I have never, ever liked crispy tacos. Except for the other day, when I randomly decided I did. I ordered some at a restaurant and loved them. And now, I’m pretty sure I’ll be making lots and lots of tacos. I started today with some ground beef tacos. I made my own taco seasoning, and added a few extra flavorings to the water used to simmer the beef. I served with romaine slivers, roma tomato, and feta cheese. Awesome! That’s all that needs to be said.

I used this for the taco seasoning. I eyeballed it, and it seems like a lot, but I could use that entire recipe just for the 1/2 lb+ ground beef I cooked for Jacob and me. Because the beef simmers for a while, it’s ok to use a little extra red pepper flake without hurting my mouth.

Taco Seasoning (All Recipes)

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper

Here the recipe I followed the most for the taco filling. I added maybe 1 tsp cornstarch in all throughout the cooking process, and used 1 heaping tbsp of tomato paste plus a little extra water. I like the addition of cider vinegar and brown sugar. It gives these tacos an edge over regular tacos.

America’s Test Kitchen Homemade Beef Tacos

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 onion, minced
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced (I upped the onion/garlic a little)
  • Taco seasoning
  • 1 lb lean ground beef
  • 1/2 cup tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tsp cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • Toppings

Directions:

  1. Heat the oil in a medium skillet over medium heat until shimmering. Add the onion and cook until softened, about 5 minutes. Stir in the garlic, spices, and 1 teaspoon salt and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds.
  2. Stir in the ground beef and cook, breaking it up with a wooden spoon, until no longer pink, about 5 minutes. Stir in the tomato sauce, broth, vinegar, and sugar adn simmer until thickened, about 10 minutes. Season with salt to taste
  3. Divide the filling evenly among the taco shells and serve, passing any desired accompaniments separately.
Comments on: "Ground beef tacos" (1)

  1. It made me hungry just reading the recipe. Going to try this over the weekend

Leave a Reply

