Just another WordPress.com weblog

Rotisserie style chicken

Calling this rotisserrie chicken is almost an insult. It was so packed full of flavor all of the way through and it was very moist and juicy. I’m glad, because I spent almost two days prepping this chicken! I knew I wanted to cook it Tuesday night, so Monday morning I soaked the chicken in a brine. Monday night I rinsed off the brine, wiped the chicken dry, and rubbed a great seasoning mix on the skin, inside the cavity, and on the skin. I stuffed the chicken with some quartered onion, garlic cloves, and half of a lemon. I also added some lemon zest to the rub. The chicken hung out until 3 o’clock, which is when I popped it into the oven. I expected it to take maybe 4 hours, but at 6 the internal temperature was in the 170s. Luckily, the chicken didn’t dry out. My chicken was a little over 4 lbs and it was soaked in a brine, so that explains the shortened cooking time. Also, I poured some white wine (maybe 1/2 cup) in the bottom of the roasting pan.  I used that to baste until the chicken starting releasing it’s own juices, around the 1 1/2 hour mark. I didn’t even care how the skin turned out, because we don’t really eat that part.

I rested the chicken upside down for a while. That’s a tip I get from Alex’s Day Off, and it makes the juices flow back into the breast. I also spooned the pan juices over the carved (ok, butchered) chicken. When I get a roasting pan, it would have been the perfect amount of juice to make a killer gravy.

Since I brined the chicken, I cut the salt in the rub by 1/2. I also used the full amount of rub on 1 chicken. I used half regular paprika, half smoked paprika, and next time I could increase the cayenne. I left out the white pepper.

Roast Sticky Chicken – Rotisserie Style (All Recipes, but it’s also on Food.com)

Jacob and I ate a little less than 1/2 of our bird

Ingredients

  • 4 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 teaspoon white pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 medium onion, quartered
  • 4 cloves peeled garlic
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 (4 pound) whole chicken

Directions

  1. In a small bowl, mix together salt, paprika, onion powder, thyme, white pepper, black pepper, cayenne pepper, and garlic powder. Remove and discard giblets from chicken. Rinse chicken cavity, and pat dry with paper towel. Rub each chicken inside and out with spice mixture. Place 1 onion into the cavity of each chicken. Place chickens in a resealable bag or double wrap with plastic wrap. Refrigerate overnight, or at least 4 to 6 hours.
  2. Preheat oven to 250 degrees F (120 degrees C).
  3. Place chickens in a roasting pan. Bake uncovered for 5 hours, to a minimum internal temperature of 180 degrees F (85 degrees C). Let the chickens stand for 10 minutes before carving.

Here is the chicken brine I used. I didn’t use the full amount of anything, and I just used a splash of oil. Between this brine and Kittencal’s buttermilk brine, I will never cook plain chicken again! I found other brines with herbs, but I’m not sure the flavor would come through that well. I’d rather add the herbs later.

Simple Chicken Brine (All Recipes)

Ingredients

  • 1 gallon warm water
  • 3/4 cup kosher salt
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup olive oil

Directions

  1. Pour the warm water into a container that is twice the volume of the water. Pour in the salt, sugar, soy sauce, and olive oil. Stir until the sugar and salt have dissolved, then allow the brine to cool to room temperature.
  2. To use, place chicken in the brine, cover, and refrigerate two hours for skinless breasts, 4 hours for bone-in pieces, and 4 hours to overnight for whole chickens. Drain and pat the chicken dry before cooking. One gallon of brine is enough for 6 pounds of whole chicken or bone-in chicken pieces, and up to 10 pounds of skinless, boneless chicken breasts.
Leave a Reply

