Just another WordPress.com weblog

I have a new favorite pork tenderloin recipe, and it’s pork medallions coated in a creamy mustard onion sauce. I took 1 tenderloin, cut it into 6 pieces and gave them a couple of whacks to thin them out some. They spent 1 1/2 hours ish swimming in a brine of 1 gallon of water, 1/2 cup salt, 1/4 cup sugar, more or less. Did I mention I’m a brine junkie? It’s hard to like white meat not injected full of salt when you know how good it tastes and how tender it makes the meat.

Anyway, I coated the rinsed and dried the pork medallions with a flour/salt/pepper/cayenne mix. The cayenne didn’t really come through, but I like to pretend it made a difference. Once I got to that point, I pretty much followed the recipe to the tee. I subbed the leeks for 1/2 of a huge onion, thinly sliced. I used my homemade chicken stock and my homemade sour cream.

I thought that when I added the sour cream, it messed up of the texture of the sauce a little. But when I put the sauce into the pan I sauteed the pork in, it cooked down and there was no issue. I added a little cornstarch but it’s really not necessary.

Pork Medallions with Mustard Chive Sauce

Serves 3

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons butter, divided
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 2 cups chopped leeks (white and pale green parts only, about 2 med.)
  • 1 cup low sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup sour cream or 1/2 cup creme fraiche
  • 3 tablespoons whole grain Dijon mustard
  • 2 (1 lb) pork tenderloins, each cut crosswise into 6 slices
  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh chives, divided

Directions:

  1. Melt 1T butter with 1T olive oil in large skillet over med-high heat.
  2. Add leeks and cook until beginning to turn golden, stirring frequently, about 5 minutes.
  3. Stir in broth, wine and garlic.
  4. Boil until mixture has reduced to 1 2/3 cups, about 4 minutes.
  5. Whisk in sour cream and mustard. (The sauce can be made 2 hours ahead. Let stand at room temperature.).
  6. Melt 1T butter with 1T oil in another large skillet over med-high heat.
  7. Sprinkle pork with salt and pepper.
  8. Saute until browned and cooked.
  9. Transfer pork to platter.
  10. Add sauce to skillet, simmer sauce over med heat until slighly thickened, scraping up any browned bits, about 2 minutes.
  11. Stir in chopped chives.
  12. Season with salt and pepper if needed.
  13. Return pork to skillet.
  14. Cover and cook over med.
  15. Heat until just rewarmed,stirring frequently.
  16. Sprinkle with additional chives and serve.
Leave a Reply

