Just another WordPress.com weblog

Bolognese sauce

I had my doubts when this was simmering. I thought I went a little overboard on the wine, and I was worried the beef would taste bland because I’m not a huge fan of beef only red sauces. But after adding a little extra milk, water, and S&P towards the end of the (never ending) two hour simmer, I was definitely surprised. It was so rich and flavorful. I could smell the delicious smell outside of my apartment for several hours after dinner. My subs were yellow onion instead of red onion, and no worchestershire sauce. My measurements were all over the place too, I just eyeballed everything because I was basically cutting the recipe by 1/3.

I browned the veggies for 10 minutes and browned the meat for about 10 minutes too, salting at each step. I took some ideas from Anne Burrell’s bolognese sauce recipe, which is a lot more work and the cooking time is almost doubled. No thanks!

Ryan’s Bolognese Sauce (Pioneer Woman)

8 servings

Ingredients

  • ½ cups Olive Oil
  • 1-½ cup Grated Carrots
  • 1 whole Large Red Onion, Diced
  • 2 pounds Ground Beef
  • 2 Tablespoons Dried Oregano
  • 2 Tablespoons Dried Basil Flakes
  • 1 can (6 Ounce) Tomato Paste
  • 5 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 1 cup (to 2 Cups) Red Wine
  • 2 Tablespoons Worcestershire
  • 2 cans (28 Ounce) Whole Tomatoes
  • 1 cup Milk
  • Salt And Pepper, to taste
  • Fresh Parmesan Cheese

Directions:

Heat oil in a large Dutch oven or skillet over medium heat. Add grated carrots and onions and cook for a few minutes. Make a well in the center of the mixture, and then add in the ground beef. Cook for a few minutes until brown, gradually stirring it into the carrot mixture.

Throw in oregano and basil. Use fresh if you have it; if you don’t, it’s fine. When the meat is browned and combined with other ingredients, make another well. Add tomato paste and let it heat. Add garlic and stir to combine.

Make a well in the center of the mixture and add red wine. Stir together. Add Worcestershire and stir. Add canned tomatoes. Finally, pour in milk, stir, and let simmer for 30 minutes to 2 hours—however long you need.

Serve with pasta and a generous sprinkling of Parmesan cheese.

Leave a Reply

