Just another WordPress.com weblog

Pan bagnat

I found a million different variations on pan bagnats, so I combined several recipes for maximum flavor. I mixed altons dressing with tuna, along with a little chopped artichoke and olives. I put the rest of the artichokes and olives in the sandwich. I constructed my sandwich in this order: bread, tuna with dressing, sliced hard boiled egg, olives, artichoke, lettuce, seasoned tomato, and then little dressing on inside of top piece of bread. I refrigerated until dinner and I thought the flavor was great. I loved the add-ins, but didn’t love the wet bread. Next time i’ll put the lettuce on bottom, then tuna with dressing(with lots extra red wine vinegar) and then other mix ins. I definitely think it’s good to mix the tuna ahead of time, but there’s no reason for the sandwich to sit. Oh, and I loved the baguette too! It was King Arthur’s classic baguette recipe that needs to be started the night before and babied all morning. it rose like crazy in the beginning but my impatience made me but it in the oven after 50 minutes of rising instead of 1 hr 15 minutes. I was a little worried the yeast would run out of something. So the baguettes were a little small but they tasted so good.

Pan Bagnat (Alton Brown)

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar (I added a lot of extra red wine vinegar to the tuna)
  • 1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 baguette, approximately 16 to 18 inches long
  • 12 ounces canned tuna packed in oil or water, drained and crumbled
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 2 hard-boiled eggs, sliced
  • 1 cup chopped kalamata olives (I used black mixed olives from Sun Harvest)
  • 1 tomato, thinly sliced
  • Lettuce leaves

Directions

In a small mixing bowl, whisk together the red wine vinegar, mustard, salt, and pepper. While continuing to whisk, gradually add the olive oil. Whisk until an emulsion forms. Set aside.

Slice the baguette horizontally into 2 pieces. Tear out some of the soft bread in the center of each side, making a slight well in the bread. Place the tuna, green pepper, red onion, hard-boiled eggs, olives, and tomato on the bottom side of the bread in that order.Drizzle the vinaigrette over the vegetables, top with the second piece of bread, and wrap tightly in plastic wrap. Let stand at room temperature for 2 hours before serving.

Cut into 4 sandwiches and serve.

Leave a Reply

