Just another WordPress.com weblog

Thanksgiving 2010

I loved being able to host Thanksgiving this year. Making the turkey, stuffing, vegetables, and dessert was so much fun and it was awesome being in charge. It was a perfect day with family and everything tasted amazing.

The Turkey. I followed Emeril’s brined and roasted turkey recipe. I could definitely taste an improvement in the turkey taste and moistness, but it was pretty subtle. A longer brine with more salt/sugar could help a little. Also, my turkey was done a lot faster than 3 hours. I checked the temp at 2 1/2, and it was already above 165. It wasn’t dry at all, and moist of it was pretty moist. However, I will be checking my turkey sooner next time! The turkey broth was really easy to make and I made it before the turkey even went in the oven. I didn’t roast the turkey upside down because my dad was convinced it wouldn’t make a difference. The turkey gravy was to die for! I could have drank that as a beverage. I got lots of compliments on the turkey and gravy, and I felt really proud of my first Thanksgiving turkey.

My stuffing was also a huge hit. I made Pioneer Woman’s version, exactly the same way I made it before. Although this time I made a lot more! Everyone was surprised how much they liked the roasted veggies. I chose potatoes, sweet potatoes, carrots, and brussels sprouts. I would have added parsnips but Kroger didn’t have any. I used olive oil, S&P, fresh thyme, and some random dried herbs. I roasted at 400 for about 40 minutes, turning every ten.

I made a yummy cranberry orange sauce. Any more orange and it would have been overpowering, but I got lucky I guess because I really liked it. I made this a day ahead and it just chilled in the fridge. It was from two peas and their pod.

Dessert. I made a round layer cake with one layer chocolate cake and one layer of vanilla cake (with some brown sugar subbed for white.) The filling was eggless chocolate chip cookie dough and the frosting was chocolate chip cookie dough drosting. O.M.G. I made Ina’s chocolate cake, using mocha for the coffee. I didn’t taste the coffee flavor, but I really think it does something amazing to the cake and I wouldn’t leave it out. My chocolate chip cake was a little dry, because I might have overbaked it a tiny bit. However, it was just one little part of an overall mind-blowing dessert. No one was disappointed!

http://twopeasandtheirpod.com/fresh-cranberry-orange-sauce/

This was my cookie dough recipe.

½ cup butter, softened

½ cup sugar

½ cup packed light brown sugar

2 tablespoon water or milk

2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup mini chocolate chips

An additional 1 cup mini chocolate chips to fold into the batter with the cookie doug

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/beattys-chocolate-cake-recipe/index.html

This was my thanksgiving leftover sandwich…I was too busy on Thanksgiving and I forgot to take pictures!

Leave a Reply

