Just another WordPress.com weblog

Hawaiian rolls

Oh wow, these were perfect. They were sweet and fluffy and I know I’ll be making them many many more times. I used the bread machine to mix the dough, so I can’t take credit for the texture. But I will never risk making these any other way, because they are that good. I’m so glad I made a full batch for once! I left out the coconut and started with 3 cups of flour. I ended up adding about 2 big tbsp after 5 minutes mixing though. I made 15 rolls, and they were pretty big. A little bigger and some of them could have been buns! I rubbed a little fake butter on top of the rolls when they came out of the oven. Oh yeah, and I only used 3 tbsp butter in the dough, only because I didn’t have 4.

Hawaiian Dinner Rolls Recipe (Polynesian Kitchen)

Source: Taste of Home 

INGREDIENTS

* 1 can (8 ounces) crushed pineapple, undrained
* 1/4 cup warm pineapple juice (70° to 80°)
* 1/4 cup water (70° to 80°)
* 1 egg
* 1/4 cup butter, cubed
* 1/4 cup nonfat dry milk powder
* 1 tablespoon sugar
* 1-1/2 teaspoons salt
* 3-1/4 cups bread flour
* 2-1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast
* 3/4 cup flaked coconut

DIRECTIONS

In bread machine pan, place the first 10 ingredients in order suggested by manufacturer. Select dough setting (check dough after 5 minutes of mixing; add 1 to 2 tablespoons of water or flour if needed). Just before final kneading (your machine may audibly signal this), add coconut.
When cycle is complete, turn dough onto a lightly floured surface. Cover with plastic wrap; let rest for 10 minutes. Divide into 15 portions; roll each into a ball. Place in a greased 13-in. x 9-in. baking pan.
Cover and let rise in a warm place for 45 minutes or until doubled. Bake at 375° for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown. Yield: 15 rolls.

Leave a Reply

