Just another WordPress.com weblog

Fig prosciutto pizza

Pioneer woman had a great idea for a pizza, and I couldn’t wait to try it – fig jam and prosciutto. She added arugula and parmesan, but I don’t like arugula and I didn’t want to buy parmesan. I wasn’t sure if Jacob would like the combo, so I made one 1/2 batch of pizza dough (most recipes make 2 pizzas) and used 1/3 of it for this pizza and the rest for a regular cheese pizza. I split one 8 oz ball of mozzarella between the two pizzas. I made a delicious pizza sauce, which was much better suited to going on a pizza than other ones that I’ve tried. I wanted to make Pioneer Woman’s pizza dough, but the no-knead method made me nervous about the texture of the dough. I found another recipe that was very similar in ingredients but gave excellent instructions. Mine didn’t rise overnight hardly at all in the fridge, but I took it out of the fridge about 5 hours early. It rose nicely and I actually stuck it back in the fridge for a little about 2 hours before dinner because I wanted to stop the rising for a while. I probably could have punched it down and gotten the same results. I really liked the crust and I’m getting a little better at shaping. Not great though, so I’ll need more practice. As far as the taste, we thought the fig prosciutto pizza was delicious and it reminded Jacob of ham-pineapple pizza. I’m glad he liked them both! I baked the pizzas on a preheated pizza stone at 500 degrees and they took about 8 minutes. The fig pizza took a little less and the regular pizza took about a minute more.

I changed up the pizza sauce a lot. First, I sauteed the garlic in a little bit of olive oil, then added the spices (including some red pepper flakes) to warm them up and “open up the flavors.” (Thanks Guy!) Then I added the tomato paste and cooked it for a minute or two. Then I added 1 cup of water, salt, pepper, and some sugar. I got the sauce bubbling and then I lowered the heat. It simmered for about 45 minutes.

 

Fig-Prosciutto Pizza (Pioneer Woman)

Ingredients

  • Pizza Crust
  • 1 teaspoon Active Dry Yeast
  • 4 cups All-purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Kosher Salt
  • ⅓ cups Olive Oil
  • FOR THE PIZZA:
  • 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 4 Tablespoons Fig Spread Or Jam
  • Kosher Salt To Taste
  • 12 ounces, weight Fresh Mozzarella, Sliced Thin
  • 6 ounces, weight Thinly Sliced Prosciutto*
  • 1 bunch Washed And Rinsed Arugula
  • Freshly Ground Pepper, to taste
  • ½ cups Shaved Parmesan

Preparation Instructions

NOTE: PIZZA INGREDIENTS IN THIS RECIPE ARE FOR 1/3 OF THE PIZZA DOUGH RECIPE. USE LEFTOVER DOUGH TO MAKE OTHER KINDS OF PIZZA!

Sprinkle yeast over 1 1/2 cups warm (not lukewarm) water.
In a mixer, combine flour and salt. With the mixer running on low speed (with paddle attachment), drizzle in olive oil until combined with flour. Next, pour in yeast/water mixture and mix until just combined.

Coat a separate mixing bowl with a light drizzle of olive oil, and form the dough into a ball. Toss to coat dough in olive oil, then cover the bowl tightly with plastic wrap and allow to rise for at least an hour. Use right away or store in the fridge until you need it. ***It’s best to make the dough at least 24 hours in advance, and 3 or 4 days is even better.

Preheat oven to 500 degrees.

Roll out 1/3 of the pizza dough as thinly as possible. Place on a large baking sheet.

Drizzle lightly with olive oil and sprinkle lightly with kosher salt. Spread fig spread (or jam) all over the surface of the dough. Sprinkle lightly with salt.

Lay sliced of mozzarella all over the surface. Sprinkle lightly with salt and freshly ground pepper. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, or until crust is golden and cheese is bubbly.

Remove from oven and immediately lay prosciutto over hot pizza. Just before serving, sprinkle on arugula and Parmesan shavings.

Cut into wedges or squares and serve immediately!

 

Here is a link to the pizza dough instructions.

http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/001199.html

Easy Pizza Sauce (All Recipes)

Ingredients

  • 1 (6 ounce) can tomato paste
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • salt to taste
  • ground black pepper to taste
  • 1/2 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 tablespoon dried basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary, crushed

Directions

  1. Mix together the tomato paste, water, and olive oil. Mix well. Add garlic, salt and pepper to taste, oregano, basil, and rosemary. Mix well and let stand several hours to let flavors blend. No cooking necessary, just spread on dough.

 

Leave a Reply

