Just another WordPress.com weblog

White chicken chili

I wasn’t sure I would like this very much, but it turned out really well. I took several recipes and messed with them to make a delicious dinner! I started with two (BIG) chicken thighs that I brined in buttermilk, spices, salt, and sugar. I rinsed them off and rubbed them with cumin, coriander, and mexican oregano. We browned them in the pot and then started on the chili. I used one jalapeno and 1 anaheim chile, which made the dish have the perfect amount of heat. I was surprised Jacob wasn’t bummed that it wasn’t spicier. He’s just glad we bought cilantro for once. Once the veggies were softened, in went the chicken broth (homemade!) I added beans a few minutes later, but I added them a little too early because they ended up overcooking a little bit. The chicken went in last and needed about 10-12 minutes to finish cooking. The recipe said to reduce to simmer after the chili started boiling, but I had the stove on 5 or 6 most of the time. I’m impatient, what can I say? I still made sure it simmered for about 30 minutes. The time simmering is totally necessary, I’m glad I held out because the flavor of the broth improved greatly. Once the shredded chicken went back in, I stirred in a quick splash of cream. To finish, we squeezed some fresh lime juice in our bowls and I added a dollop of sour cream. Below is the quantities and the cooking instructions for what I did. Our recipe made 4 bowls worth of chicken chili, which is only 2-3 servings in this house!

This soup would be great with tortilla chips, but I wanted some cheese so I made cheese quesadillas. I bought some of my favorite soft flour tortillas from Rosa’s and made the Taco Bell quesadilla sauce. I used monterey jack cheese with jalapenos. Both the cheese and sauce were pretty spicy, but after cooking the quesadillas in some butter on our skillet, the heat toned down a little. The recipe for the sauce is from Food.com. It is pretty much spot on, I only wish I used more on my quesadilla!

White Chicken Chili (Joelen’s Culinary Adventures and Mel’s Kitchen Cafe)

Ingredients:

  • 2 large chicken thighs
  • Cumin, coriander, mexican oregano, salt, and pepper
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 onion, large dice
  • 1 anaheim chile, seeds and ribs removed, diced
  • 1 jalapeno, seeds and ribs removed, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp cumin (all the spices can be increased if desired)
  • 1 tsp mexican oregano
  • 1/4 tsp coriander
  • 30 oz chicken broth (2 cans)
  • 1 can cannelini beans
  • 1 lime
  • Cilantro, for garnish

Season chicken liberally with spices. Heat oil in large Dutch oven over medium-high heat until just smoking. Add chicken and cook without moving until golden brown, about 4 minutes. Using tongs, turn chicken and lightly brown on other side, about 2 minutes. Transfer chicken to plate.

While chicken is browning, remove and discard ribs and seeds from the chiles and mince. Dice one onion and mince the garlic. Pour off all but 1 tablespoon fat from Dutch oven (adding additional vegetable oil if necessary) and reduce heat to medium. Add minced chiles and onion. Cover and cook, stirring occasionally, until vegetables turn translucent, about 8 minutes. Add garlic, cumin, coriander, salt and pepper in the last 2 minutes.

Pour in chicken broth and bring to boil over medium high heat. Reduce temp and simmer, uncovered, for 30 minutes. The chili will start to thicken, especially once you add the chicken. Add chicken after about 15 minutes, and add the beans in the last few minutes to warm them. Once the chicken has reached 160 degrees, remove and shred. Return chicken to pot, re-warm, and turn off the heat to add the splash of cream. Adjust seasoning if necessary. Serve with lime wedges, sour cream, and cilantro.

Leave a Reply

