Just another WordPress.com weblog

Stuffed mushrooms

Stuffed mushrooms were Jacob’s pick for this weekend, so I searched for a version that didn’t have cream cheese. Been there, done that. I found this awesome variation on Tasty Kitchen. I wanted the big huge portobello mushrooms but I saw 6 portobellos all packaged up and cleaned and I could resist. They were bigger than regular white mushrooms but not as big as regular portobellos. I changed up the recipe some based on what I like and what I had. I had an entire small ramekin of extra filling that we happily cooked separately and ate. I would eat these again, with a few small changes. One, I would sprinkle a little salt over the un-stuffed mushrooms. I actually picked the filling off of my mushroom so I could add some. Second, I would cube the bread before toasting or let it get a little stale instead of toasting and cutting. The bread was a little too soft in some parts of the filling. I also could have cooked out the wine a little bit more, I guess.

Here is the recipe, with my measurements

Glorious Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

Adapted from Tasty Kitchen

Serves 2, 6 medium mushrooms and one ramekin of filling. It probably would have served 3 if I had 3 more mushrooms.

Ingredients:

  • 2 whole portobello mushroom caps, or 6 medium
  • Olive oil
  • 1 link spicy Italian Sausage, with casings removed
  • 2 teaspoons crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 whole onion
  • 1 bulb Fresh Fennel
  • 3 cloves Garlic
  • Dried rosemary and thyme
  • ¾ cups white wine (can substitute stock/broth)
  • ½ cups shredded cheddar or monterey jack, plus extra for sprinkling
  • 2 slices good sandwich bread, toasted and cubed
  • 1 whole egg, lightly beaten

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425F.

Wipe the portobellos clean with a paper towel and scrape out the gills with a spoon. Drizzle enough olive oil in the bottom of a glass baking dish to coat. Place portobello caps in the baking dish, top down, and drizzle with oil. Sprinkle with salt and set aside.

Brown sausage in a large skillet with a little bit of olive oil and the crushed red pepper over medium high heat.

While the sausage is browning, dice the onion and slice the garlic as thin as you can get it.

Add the onion and saute for about 5-7 minutes. After a few minutes, add the garlic and toast the rosemary/thyme before stirring it all together.

Add the wine to deglaze the pan and allow to cook for another 5 minutes or so.

Stir in the shredded cheese and bread cubes. The bread cubes should soak up whatever wine remains in the pan.

Taste it at this point, and add salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste (or more red pepper!). Stir in the beaten egg. The stuffing mixture should seem a little wet.

Mound stuffing mixture into portobello caps. It’s ok to pack it down a little bit to make sure that it stays in place.

Sprinkle with a little extra shredded cheese. Bake at 450F for 25-35 minutes, or until the portobello is tender and the stuffing is golden brown.

Leave a Reply

