Just another WordPress.com weblog

Calzones

I looove my version of homemade ricotta cheese that I adapted from Ina Garten. I’m not sure if it’s a “traditional” recipe, because it doesn’t taste like store-bought. It is much better! Plus, I don’t really like regular ricotta. I used the ricotta I made to make a yummy calzone filling. I mixed about 1/2 cup of ricotta, 1 cup or so of shredded mozzarella and parmesan, 1/2 of a beaten egg, fresh basil, green onion, 2 slices of diced thin prosciutto, and S&P. For the pizza dough, I used my new favorite from Wolfgang Puck. I used about 4 oz of dough to make one small-ish calzone. I brushed with olive oil and sprinkled with parmesan. It needs about 15 minutes to bake at 475-500. Usually I sprinkle parchment paper with cornmeal but I won’t do that next time I make calzones.

Filling for Calzones (Just the tip)

  • 4 oz thinly sliced prosciutto (no need for the super good imported stuff for this)
  • 8 oz shredded mozzarella/provolone mix
  • 15 oz part-skim ricotta
  • 3 tbsp chopped basil
  • ball of store-bought whole wheat pizza dough
  • salt, pepper
  • whole wheat flour for dusting
  • 1 egg
Spinach Calzones with Ricotta and Sun Dried Tomatoes (Good Life Eats)
  • 1 1/4 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1 cup mozzarella cheese, grated
  • 1/3 cup parmesan cheese, grated
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2 – 2 1/2 cups fresh spinach, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons fresh basil, optional
  • 3/4 – 1 cup sun-dried tomatoes
  • 48 slices pepperoni (6 per calzone), cut into quarters
Leave a Reply

