Just another WordPress.com weblog

I originally wanted to make shrimp enchiladas with the cream sauce, but I decided to use up some leftover ground beef. I cooked the beef using my favorite taco meat recipe from Cook’s Illustrated, then mixed that with 1 1/2 cups monterey jack and feta cheese. I also threw in some leftover roasted poblanos/jalapenos. Probably 2 tbsp or so. I use flour tortillas for enchiladas because I can’t stand corn tortillas. They soften up a lot and absorb a lot of moisture, which is why they aren’t desirable. But I love using flour tortillas anyway. I layered some salsa from the pantry at the bottom of the dish, then covered the assembled enchiladas with the sour cream sauce. Works for me! I always bake enchiladas covered at 350-400 for about 20-25 minutes, then broil until brown and bubbly. The white sauce didn’t really bubble because there was no cheese in it. An important change to make next time! The relish is from a recipe called Corn Cakes with Tomato Avocado Relish. Seemed like a perfect topping to a fun enchilada! I made the relish more tomato-y and less avocado-y.

Jalapeno Cream Sauce Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 2 Tbsp. flour
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and minced
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Chopped Tomato and Avocado Salsa

  • 2 large tomatoes, cored and chopped
  • 1 tbsp. minced fresh basil
  • 1/2 jalapeno, seeded, minced, and diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • Juice of half a lime and 1 tsp zest
  • 1½ tsp. olive oil
  • 1½ tsp. white wine vinegar
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1/2 ripe avocado, pitted and diced
Leave a Reply

