Just another WordPress.com weblog

Beef wellington

Absolutely amazing. I cooked the meat to 128 ish and it was pretty red in the middle. Great for Jacob, my dad, and me; not so much for my mom and sister. Luckily the ends were cooked a little more. I got about 2 lbs of a thick beef tenderloin that I had to tie to make a nice shape.  Now that I think about it, I could have cut the tenderloin in half the longer way and had two pork tenderloin sized pieces. I cut down the recipe to fit the 2 lbs of beef. I think I used 6 ish slices of prosciutto. Tyler’s sides sounded nice but I served with my amazing demi glaze from Cooks Illustrated, parsnip puree, and sauteed spinach. Parsnips have such a weird, minty, herby flavor, and I don’t think I’ll use them again. Make sure to let the beef rest for 15 or more minutes. Don’t worry, it won’t get cold!

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/the-ultimate-beef-wellington-recipe2/index.html

Leave a Reply

