Just another WordPress.com weblog

Baked potato soup

Another version! I made this a day ahead, which was good because it reeeeally needed some tweaking. After making, it wasn’t potato-y enough so I had to go buy another potato. Total potatoes used were about 2 1/2. It is important to cook the potatoes in the oven or boiling water until they are really soft or they won’t process all of the way. I ended up simmering the soup a little longer than I planned just to cook them a little more. Luckily, the soup pureed nicely in the blender. I reserved a lot of the potato skins so I could chop them up and return them to the soup after pureeing. Also, I saved some potato chunks to stir in as well. The soup needs a looooot of salt and pepper, don’t skimp! Here are my ingredients and proportions. The directions are from Life’s Ambrosia. I also looked at All Recipes and Our Best Bites.

Serves 4

  • 3 slices bacon (I removed some of the fat
  • 1/2 small onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • Fresh thyme
  • Cayenne pepper
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 2 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 3 cups 2% milk
  • 3 large baking potatoes, baked, peeled and chilled, diced into bite size pieces
  • Salt and pepper
  • Green onions, diced
  • Shredded cheddar cheese
  • Sour cream

http://www.ourbestbites.com/2010/10/baked-potato-soup/

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/baked-potato-soup/

http://www.lifesambrosia.com/2009/03/baked-potato-soup-recipe.html

Leave a Reply

