Just another WordPress.com weblog

Broccoli cheddar soup, again

I love this soup! I made a version a while ago with beer and mini cheeseburger patties, but this one is better. It is less bitter because I used 1/3 ish cup beer and sautéed an apple with the onion, carrot, and celery. To make five servings (3 for me, 2 for Jacob) I used 3 cups chicken stock, 1 ish cup mixed cream and 2% milk, and 9 oz shredded cheese. I used two kinds of cheddar and smoked gouda. I referred to the recipes from the previous broccoli cheddar soup as well as some new ones. I also added worschestershire sauce, garlic, thyme, and red pepper flakes. I used a butt load of seasoned pepper too. I used about 3 tbsp mixed bacon fat and butter and 3 tbsp ish of flour. The soup didn’t thicken up as much as I wanted, and I was in a time crunch, so the first helpings were a little thin. I simmered the soup while we were eating so the leftovers were a little thicker. The soup after 30 ish minutes of simmering is the perfect consistency! I used 1 smallish head of broccoli, steamed in the microwave for 2-3 minutes. I put the broccoli in a glass bowl with a splash of water, and covered with plastic wrap. It would be cool to add roasted broccoli. In small pieces of course!

 

http://www.lehighvalleylive.com/food/index.ssf/2012/02/hampton_winds_award-winning_ch.html

Leave a Reply

