Just another WordPress.com weblog

Buffalo chicken chowder

I was really impressed with this one! The soup is really similar to a chicken pot pie filling, and sometimes that can leave a little to be desired. But I took a few extra steps to ensure that the chowder was absolutely delicious. I started with really good, flavorful chicken stock that I cooked for hours. I cooked my veggies for the chowder in 2 tbsp butter for over then minutes until they started to brown. I used 1 cup of small diced red/yellow onions, 1 cup diced carrots, and 2/3 cup diced celery. I also added garlic. Then I made a roux by adding two ish tablespoons of flour. For four servings (almost five, but the fifth would have been a tiny bit too wimpy,) I used about four cups of chicken stock. I added about 1/4 cup Frank’s red hot. The perfect amount of spice! I also added dried thyme when the veggies were almost done cooking. For the chicken, I used diced chicken thighs that I cooked “rotisserie” style. I used one cup of chicken but I could have used more. I added two tablespoons of softened cream cheese to make the soup creamy and a big handful of shredded cheddar/Italian cheese. I was going to add more cream but it didn’t need it. One final seasoning, some chopped green onions, and a sprinkle of cheese and this soup was ready to go! I served with one of my guilty pleasures (Market Street salad bar croutons) and homemade sourdough rolls. I got some salad bar blue cheese but it was gross. I could try gorgonzola but I’ll probably stick to cheddar/parmesan.

http://www.closetcooking.com/2011/11/buffalo-chicken-chowder.html

http://www.bakeyourday.net/buffalo-chicken-soup/

http://www.bakedbyrachel.com/2011/11/slow-cooker-buffalo-chicken-chowder/

Leave a Reply

